TM-BASE

Test for Master's Programmes in Business Administration, Social Sciences and Economics

• objective comparison of applicants

• very good forecast on the academic success

• measurement of competences critical for success

Welcome to the TM-BASE

The TM-BASE (Test for Master’s Programmes in Business Administration, Social Sciences and Economics) is a test for detection of the abilities that are necessary for successful completion of a master’s course in economic and social sciences.

The test has an overall duration of approx. 4 hours and consists of four groups of exercises:

  • Planning and Organising Projects
  • Analysing Texts
  • Formalising Economic Interrelationships
  • Interpreting Business Charts

The TM-BASE may be taken in German or English. The TM-BASE meets the internationally recognized standards of quality: The reliability is .88, the prognostic validity is .44 (correlation between the test results and the final grades of 247 master’s graduates).


TM-BASE is the first admission test for master's programmes which is specifically tailored to the requirements of scientifically oriented master's programmes and which is highly related to the field of business economics. It increases the equality of opportunities for applicants because the requirements for all applicants are the same and trainability is very low. TM-BASE improves the prediction of study success.

Dr. Stephan Stegt, project supervisor TM-BASE

Currently, the TM-BASE is used for the following programmes:

Bachelor grades are not sufficient for the selection of students for master’s programmes
The bachelor grades of certain universities are incomparable as the requirements of the universities and their use of the grading scales are different. Thus, additional selection criteria should be applied to not disadvantage applicants from high-demanding universities or universities with strict grading practices.

 

Cognitive tests have numerous advantages over other selection methods
Compared to other selection methods, cognitive tests proved to be most successful; this was shown by means of several surveys in different countries. Execution and evaluation of such tests is economical; they are objective and deliver a very good forecast on the academic success. Correspondingly, they are significantly superior to other selection criteria such as interviews, letters of recommendation or letters of motivation.

The TM-BASE was developed by ITB Consulting Ltd. in close cooperation with representatives of the WISO faculty of the University of Hamburg.

More information on the development of the TM-BASE

 

Information for Universities Information for Participants

News

The next test date is in October.
Dates, deadlines and test locations are stated here.


As of the winter semester 2016/2017 the WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management considers the results of TM-BASE for its Master of Science Programmes.

Important: If you want to apply for these programmes you need to take the TM-BASE in English.


The prognostic power of TM-BASE has been proven in a scientific study with 247 master’s graduates. The test result predicts the final grade very well: The correlation between the test result and the final grade is r = .44.

Registering for the TM-BASE Demo test Dates & Fees
EN

TM-WISO

Test für Masterstudiengänge in Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften

• objektiver Vergleich von Bewerbern

• sehr gute Vorhersage des Studienerfolgs

• Messung erfolgskritischer Kompetenzen

Willkommen zum TM-WISO

Der TM-WISO (Test für Masterstudiengänge in Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften) ist ein Test zur Erfassung von Fähigkeiten, die für das erfolgreiche Absolvieren eines Masterstudiums in Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften von Bedeutung sind.

Der Test hat eine Gesamtdauer von knapp 4 Stunden und besteht aus vier Aufgabengruppen

  • Planen in Studium und Beruf
  • Texte analysieren
  • Wirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge formalisieren
  • Wirtschaftsgrafiken interpretieren

Der TM-WISO kann in deutscher oder englischer Sprache absolviert werden. Der TM-WISO erfüllt die internationalen wissenschaftlichen Gütekriterien: Die Reliabilität liegt bei .88, die prognostische Validität bei .44 (Korrelation mit den späteren Abschlussnoten im Masterstudium bei 247 Absolventen).


TM-WISO ist der erste Auswahltest für Masterstudiengänge, der auf die Anforderungen in wissenschaftsorientierten konsekutiven Studiengängen zugeschnitten ist und einen eindeutigen Fachbezug aufweist. Er erhöht die Chancengleichheit zwischen Bewerbern, da an alle die gleichen Anforderungen gestellt werden und der Test kaum trainierbar ist, und verbessert die Prognose von Studienerfolg.

Dr. Stephan Stegt, Projektleiter TM-WISO, ITB Consulting

Der TM-WISO wird von vielen Hochschulen zur Auswahl verwendet

 

Bachelornoten reichen zur Auswahl von Masterstudierenden nicht aus

Die Bachelornoten verschiedener Hochschulen sind nicht vergleichbar, da die Anforderungen höchst unterschiedlich sind und auch die Notenskala unterschiedlich gehandhabt wird. Daher müssen, wenn man BewerberInnen von anspruchsvollen Hochschulen oder von Hochschulen mit strenger Auslegung der Notenskala nicht benachteiligen möchte, zusätzliche Auswahlkriterien herangezogen werden.

 

Kognitive Tests haben viele Vorteile gegenüber anderen Auswahlverfahren

Kognitive Tests haben sich, das ist in etlichen nationalen wie internationalen Studien belegt worden, gegenüber anderen Auswahlverfahren am besten bewährt. Sie sind ökonomisch in der Durchführung und Auswertung, sie sind objektiv, und sie liefern eine sehr gute Prognose von Studienerfolg. Damit sind sie anderen Auswahlkriterien wie Interviews, Empfehlungsschreiben oder Motivationsschreiben deutlich überlegen.

Der TM-WISO wurde von der ITB Consulting GmbH gemeinsam mit Fachvertretern der WISO-Fakultät der Universität Hamburg entwickelt.

Mehr zur Entwicklung des TM-WISO

 

 

Informationen für Hochschulen Informationen für Teilnehmer

News

Die Testtermine für 2017 stehen fest. Alle Termine, Testorte und Fristen finden Sie hier.


Bitte führen Sie die Online-Anmeldung zum TM-WISO über die Browser Firefox oder Internet Explorer durch. Bei der Nutzung anderer Browser kann es zu Störungen kommen.


Ab dem WS 2016/2017 berücksichtigt die WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management den TM-WISO für ihre Master of Science Programme.

Achtung: Für diese Masterprogramme muss der TM-WISO in englischer Sprache abgelegt werden!


Die Prognosekraft des TM-WISO wurde durch eine wissenschaftliche Studie mit 247 Masterabsolventen nachgewiesen. Demnach sagt das Testergebnis die Abschlussnote im Masterstudium sehr gut vorher: Die Korrelation zwischen Testergebnis und Abschlussnote liegt bei r = .44.

Für den TM-WISO anmelden Zum Demotest Testtermine und Gebühren
DE